Michel Spiro

Tel : +33 1 44 96 47 84

spiro     Michel Spiro was appointed director of theIN2P3 on February 17, 2003 and also appointed director of the Department of Nuclear and Particle Physics of the CNRS on February 21, 2003.

Michel Spiro was born on February 24, 1946 in Roanne, France. A graduate of the Ecole Polytechnique, he wrote his PhD thesis in the sciences in Saclay at the CEA (French Atomic Energy Commission) where he started working in 1970. He was promoted to the position of director of the Particle Physics Department of Dapnia in 1991 and led the department until 1999. He became chargé de mission of the CEA and assistant scientific director of IN2P3, responsible for astroparticles and neutrinos. He took over the leadership of Dapnia in 2002.

His initial research in particle physics led him to participate in the discovery of intermediary W and Z bosons (UA1 experiment). He then became involved in the study of particles from the cosmos and participated in the Gallex experiment for the detection of solar neutrinos and the brown dwarf experiment that then evolved into the project for the search for dark matter (Eros). He has received many awards for his exceptional research: the Joliot-Curie Prize of the French Physics Society in 1983, the Thibaud Prize of the Academy of Sciences of Lyon in 1985, the Philip Morris Prize in 1995, the Félix Robin Prize of the French Physics Society in 1999 and an award from the "Association Française pour le Rayonnement International" in 2000.

Head of the Particle Physics Division of the French Physics Society from 1984 to 1988, he became secretary of the High-Energy Nuclear Physics Division of the European Physics Society in 2000 and then president in 2001. He has been president of the LEP (CERN's electron-positron collider) study group since 1998 and will continue until the machine is put out of operation.

In addition to his scientific activities, Michel Spiro was an associate professor at the École Polytechnique from 1983 to 1999 and then at the graduate school (DEA) of theoretical physics in Paris. He is also the author of two books: "La Matière-Espace-Temps" with Gilles Cohen-Tannoudji, which recently received a prize from the French Academy of Moral and Political Sciences and "La Lumière des Neutrinos" with Michel Cribier and Daniel Vignaud.

Back to homepageContactcredits