PressCNRS international magazine

Table of contents

Dirac Medal for "Charm Quark"

The 2007 Dirac Medal, one of the most prestigious awards in theoretical physics and mathematics, was awarded on August 8th to two well-known physicists: Jean Iliopoulos, Emeritus Senior Researcher at CNRS,1 and Luciano Maiani, professor at the University of Rome “La Sapienza,” and former General Director of CERN. This medal rewards their joint work on the “charm quark,” a new fourth species of quark. Their work helped develop the “Standard Model,” one of the fundamentals of modern particle theory.
Jean Iliopoulos, now 67, graduated from the Athens Polytechnic University in 1962. He was one of the founders of the Theoretical Physics Laboratory at ENS in Paris, which he directed from 1991 to 1995 and from 1998 to 2002. His recent research mainly focuses on the quantum field theory of gravitation, an area which is at the very heart of modern physics. He has been a member of the Academy of Sciences since November 12, 2002.




Notes :

1. Laboratoire de physique théorique (CNRS / ENS Paris / Université Paris VI).

Contacts :

Jean Iliopoulos, LPTENS, Paris.


Back to homepageContactcredits